A passionate retirement

The team comprising the Management Committee and our Industry Services Manager provide the engine that helps to drive the passionfruit industry foward in Australia today.

As I take on the role of President and with the loss of Tina’s leadership together with that of other well established executive members including Ian Constable and Jim Gordon, it is very encouraging to see a new cohort of younger members stepping up to continue to further the interests of the industry and our members collectively. At the virtual AGM in October 2020 committee members Jarod Agostinelli, Brad Millard and Matthew James re-joined continuing members Cynthia Barbagallo, Aidan Hutton and myself.

Tina leaves the association in good shape and we are fortunate to retain the ongoing services of Jane and our new team member Sacha. I am sure you will agree they have raised the bar in terms of the services and assistance provided to our members in recent years. They have established a solid program of initiatives for the year ahead including the ongoing projects addressing Breeding, Post-Harvest Best Practice, Communications and the LEAD program. A particularly noteworthy initiative is the establishment of the Noel Day Scholarships to allow growers to further their horticultural knowledge.

Many of our members are challenged by dry weather and the resulting extreme fire conditions. Even those not directly exposed to fire risks are experiencing challenging circumstances. For example, many growers are having to cart water to maintain new plantings and transport operators are experiencing delays in delivering produce, equipment and other supplies. In these times, it is even more important we work together to strengthen the resilience of our industry. In the year ahead there will be a numerous opportunity for you to join with other growers and industry specialists, both in-person and online, to network, learn, share experiences and develop personal contacts. We encourage you to participate in this learning process and to provide your feedback on how best the association can meet your needs.

Dennis Chant, President

Dennis Chant, President